## Apple Canyon Lake Property Owners Association Annual Meeting Minutes June 8, 2019

## APPROVED

- **1.0 Call to Order** President Jody Ware called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M.
- **2.0 Pledge of Allegiance** Following the Pledge of Allegiance, a quorum was present with the following directors in attendance: Ms. Jody Ware, Mr. Mike Harris, Mr. Bob Ballenger, Mr. John Diehl, Mr. Gary Hannon, Mr. Jon Sonntag, Mr. Steve Tribbey, and Ms. Barb Hendren. Mr. Gordon Williams was absent. General Manager Shaun Nordlie was also in attendance.
- **3.0 Adopt Minutes of 2018 Annual Meeting** Mike Harris moved, with a second by Bob Ballenger, to adopt the June 9, 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes. The motion carried with an abstention by Jon Sonntag.
- **4.0 Directors Election Procedure** Pat Reese, Chair of the Tellers Committee, provided an overview of the election process and the duties of the Tellers Committee. She explained that the blue envelopes come into the office, where they are verified by staff as in good standing and legitimate. Those envelopes are then placed in a lockbox and remain there until the morning of the Annual Meeting when they are given to the Tellers Committee. The Tellers Committee then opens the blue return envelope and removes the white ballot envelope, ensuring that the vote is secret. The blue envelopes are kept for one year after the election. The results of the count are given to the Board President to announce at the end of the Annual Meeting. No questions were asked of Ms. Reese.
- **5.0 Treasurer's Report** Gary Hannon announced that a representative from O'Connor Brooks will be attending to summarize the 2018 audit results. Gary read a summary from his report which was included in the packet and will be published in its entirety in *The Apple Core*. Gary detailed the revenues and expenses for the Association for 2018.
- **6.0 Keay and Costello Legal Report** Doug Sury of Keay and Costello, our law firm from Wheaton Illinois, gave a written overview for Jody Ware to read to the membership summarizing what they have been working on over the past year. The firm has been working closely with the Association on aligning our governing documents, which has been ongoing for 2-3 years. Doug also has provided Board training.
- **7.0 O'Connor Brooks Financial Report** Scott Roberts of O'Connor Brooks reported on the audit of the 2018 financial statements of Apple Canyon Lake Property Owners' Association. The audit was performed using acceptable accounting auditing standards, and the opinion of the firm is an unmodified opinion. Scott summarized some financial highlights of the audit.
- **8.0 General Manager's Address** General Manager Shaun Nordlie gave a PowerPoint presentation reviewing the accomplishments of the Association for 2018-2019, which included employee introductions, and a summary of improvements and events at the Pro Shop and Marina, Office Operations, and Financial/HR Department. Also reported on Natural Resources Manager's activities, Maintenance Department news, including activities our new Building Inspector has been working on, as well as activities in our Aquatics, Security and Communications Departments. Shaun also gave a preview of our upcoming 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary celebrations, and the Communications Department presented

a PowerPoint on our 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary. Jody Ware thanked the Communications Department for the excellent presentation.

**8.0 Presentation of Distinguished Service Awards** – Cindy Carton gave background on the Distinguished Service Award, which was created in 2000 to recognize individuals who have volunteered and contributed outstanding community service to ACL. She thanked all who volunteer for the Association, past award recipients, and the nominees for this year (Mike Cammack, Gary Hannon, Ron Horist, Rich Krasula, John Killeen, Mary Hannon, LeAnne Killeen, and Carol Horist).

The 2019 Male Distinguished Service Award Winner, nominated by his peers, is Mike Cammack. Mike joined the Conservation Commission in 2012 and has a valuable member ever since. Mike has been instrumental in implementing the Conservation Commission's goose control program. Since 2014, he has placed fish habitat and done fish shocking since 2015. He is a Greenway Stewardship monitor on six areas, Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, and serves on the Safety & Emergency Planning Commission.

The 2019 Female Distinguished Service Award Winner is Carol Horist. In her 20+ years here, she has been a long-time volunteer committed to helping with activities and beautifying the area. She participated in the early years of What's Trump Relay for Life, and has volunteered for many ACL events and activities, but the one thing she has really enjoyed is the ACL Garden Club, where she has served as past president. She invited the public in to view the garden walk, has always helped with spring and fall garden clean-up, and helped at the plant sales. For many years, she has kept track of the bucket brigade who waters plants at the Clubhouse, and for the last 4 years was part of the Garden Club's Adopt an Island program.

These two extraordinary volunteers join the ranks of past winners who include Dorothy Nichols, Frank Loftus, Helen Stadel, Elmer Malon, Melva Detwiler, John Finn, Eleanor Jacobsen, Oscar Gustus, Ruth Langfield, Maury Watts, Pat Cuttone, Harold Bathum, Sharon Burmeister, Jack Dibie, Diane Monnich, Darryle Burmeister, Evelyn Clemmans, Dick Brennan, Marge Smith Clark, Bill Skeens, Laura Turek, Kevin Kavanaugh, Shirley Moore, Jim Rhodes, Karen Loete, Joe Forman, Patricia Volpert, Fred Turek, Nancy Winter, Erin Winter, Patricia Reese, Bob Stanger, Mike Harris, Phyllis Cady, Kathy Richards, and Tom Brennan.

- **9.0 Announcement of the Nominating Committee** President Jody Ware announced that Rosanne Brandenburg, Barb Hendren, John Killeen, Mike Tyson, Therese Nelson, Mike Yorke, and Bill Bourell have agreed to volunteer for 2019-2020 and were approved at the May 2020 Board of Directors Meeting.
- **10.0 Member Questions/Comments** The floor was opened for property owner comments.
- **11.0 Election Results** Tellers Committee Chairperson Pat Reese presented the results of the 2019 election. There were 781 ballots cast, of which 758 were valid. The three candidates elected to the Board for a three-year term are, in no particular order, Gordy Williams, Tom Ohms, and Barb Hendren.
- **12.0 Recognition of Board Members Whose Terms End** President Jody Ware thanked Jon Sonntag for his service on the Board of Directors, and thanked him for his knowledge and experience of wildlife management, technology and networking, farm, hunting, and real estate management, and anything to do with motors.

<b>13.0 Adjournment/Refreshments</b> – The meeting was adjourned at 2:25 P.M. by Mike Harris.	
Acting Recording Secretary Barb Hendren	President Jody Ware
Date	Corporate Secretary Barb Hendren