## Apple Canyon Lake Property Owners Association Annual Meeting Minutes June 9, 2018

## **UNAPPROVED**

- **1.0 Call to Order** President Jody Ware called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M.
- **2.0 Pledge of Allegiance** Following the Pledge of Allegiance, a quorum was present with the following directors in attendance: Ms. Jody Ware, Mr. Mike Harris, Mr. Rich Krasula, Mr. John Diehl, Mr. Gordy Williams, Mr. Gary Hannon, and Ms. Barb Hendren. Mr. Bob Ballenger and Mr. Jon Sonntag were absent. General Manager Shaun Nordlie was also in attendance.
- **3.0** Adopt Minutes of 2017 Annual Meeting Rich Krasula moved, with a second by Gordy Williams, to adopt the June 10, 2017 Annual Meeting Minutes. The motion carried with an abstention by Mike Harris.
- **4.0 Directors Election Procedure** Pat Reese, Chair of the Tellers Committee, provided an overview of the election process and the duties of the Tellers Committee. She explained that the blue envelopes come into the office, where they are verified by staff as in good standing and legitimate. Those envelopes are then placed in a lockbox and remain there until the morning of the Annual Meeting when they are given to the Tellers Committee. The Tellers Committee then opens the blue return envelope and removes the white ballot envelope, ensuring that the vote is secret. The blue envelopes are kept for one year after the election. The results of the count are given to the Board President to announce at the end of the Annual Meeting. No questions were asked of Ms. Reese.
- **5.0 Treasurer's Report** Gary Hannon read a summary from his report which was included in the packet and will be published in its entirety in *The Apple Core*. Gary detailed the revenues and expenses for the Association for 2017.
- **6.0 Keay and Costello Legal Report** Doug Sury of Keay and Costello gave an overview of what they have been working on for the Association over the past year. There is not a lot to report. They have been helping to tighten up our Rules & Regulations. Things were also very quiet in Springfield; one item which may potentially affect us is clearing up ambiguity on term limits for board members, but this will probably die.
- **7.0 O'Connor Brooks Financial Report** Pat McCarthy of O'Connor Brooks, the firm that performed the annual audit of the financial statements, reported the results of their audit of December 31, 2017. In their opinion, the financial statements of ACLPOA are reported fairly and are materially correct. They changed their method of auditing from individual to full accrual. They found no problems with our internal control structure. Any questions for O'Connor Brooks can be answered after the meeting.
- **8.0 General Manager's Address** General Manager, Shaun Nordlie did a PowerPoint presentation reviewing the accomplishments of the Association for 2017 -2018, which included a section on what we learned from the 2017 flood, and what the plans are in place to prevent problems with future flood events.
- **8.0 Presentation of Distinguished Service Awards** Cindy Carton gave background on the Distinguished Service Award, which was created in 2000 to recognize individuals who have volunteered and contributed outstanding community service to ACL. She also thanked Shaun Nordlie, the Board of Directors, and all committee participants.

This year's female honoree is Kathy Richards. It is because of the dedication and volunteer work of members like Kathy that ACL has achieved many of its successes and become the community it is. Kathy and her husband Duke have been property owners for over 10 years. During this time, Kathy has been a member of the Rules & Regulations, Recreation, Ad Hoc Amenity Tag, Campground, Pool, and Legal Committees, and served on the

Board of Directors. For many years Kathy 'lent a hand' to most activities here, and as a former Recreation Committee member (then chair) she was integral to the success of Recreation events. She served on the Board of Directors and did her due diligence in researching issues and made every effort to always vote in the best interest of the Association as a whole. Kathy Richards deserves our deepest thanks and appreciation for all the time and talent she has given Apple Canyon Lake. She is truly deserving of the 2019 Distinguished Service Award.

Tom Brennan is the Male Distinguished Service Award winner. Tom has served ACL continuously for over 30 years; 9 of those which (starting in 1990) were on our Board of Directors where he served 3 years as Treasurer and 5 years as President. While President, he attended many committee meetings and spent countless hours devoted to maintaining the well-being of the lake. Tom missed only one Board meeting in nine years. During his tenure as President, Tom was instrumental in convincing the membership of the need to pass the Capital Improvements Assessment Referendum. He chaired public meetings held both at the Lake and Chicago, wrote articles explaining the need for capital improvements, and made over 100 phone calls in its support. After the Membership approved the Capital Improvements Assessment, Tom served on Long Range Plan Implementation Committee which oversaw the acquisition, construction, and renovation of many amenities at the lake. This included renovation of the campground and playground, Nixon beach, including the construction of a new pavilion, dredging of the lake, acquisition of the weed harvester, etc. Tom has served on several committees over the years, most notably the Budget Committee, where he has been a member for approximately 30 years and continues to serve, putting his professional experience as a CPA and a cost/financial analyst to good use for the Association. He also currently serves on the CAMP Financing and Marketing Committee.

These two extraordinary volunteers join the ranks of past winners who include Dorothy Nichols, Frank Loftus, Helen Stadel, Elmer Malon, Melva Detwiler, John Finn, Eleanor Jacobsen, Oscar Gustus, Ruth Langfield, Maury Watts, Pat Cuttone, Harold Bathum, Sharon Burmeister, Jack Dibie, Diane Monnich, Darryle Burmeister, Evelyn Clemmans, Dick Brennan, Marge Smith Clark, Bill Skeens, Laura Turek, Kevin Kavanaugh, Shirley Moore, Jim Rhodes, Karen Loete, Joe Forman, Patricia Volpert, Fred Turek, Nancy Winter, Erin Winter, Patricia Reese, Bob Stanger, Mike Harris, and Phyllis Cady.

- **9.0** Announcement of the Nominating Committee President Jody Ware announced that Mike Cammack, Mike Tyson, Michelle Bass, Rosanne Brandenburg, Barb Hendren, Vickie Sershon, and John Killeen have agreed to volunteer for 2018-2019 and were approved at the May 2018 Board of Directors Meeting.
- **10.0 Member Questions/Comments** The floor was opened for property owner comments.
- **11.0 Election Results** President Jody Ware presented the results of the election. There were 661 ballots received, of which 645 were valid. The three candidates elected to the Board for a three-year term are, in no particular order, Steve Tribbey, Jody Ware, and Bob Ballenger.
- **12.0 Recognition of Board Members Whose Terms End** President Jody Ware thanked Rich Krasula, who agreed to fill an interim position on the Board, for his commitment to Apple Canyon Lake, his committee work, and his thorough, articulate attention to detail.

<b>13.0 Adjournment/Refreshments</b> – The meeting was adjourned at 2:21 P.M. by Mike Harris.	
Acting Recording Secretary Barb Hendren	President Jody Ware
Date	Corporate Secretary Barb Hendren